Connie Chung

…will not be in The Evangelist.

But that doesn’t matter.

What matters, though, is I’ve been spending way too much time trying to secure a space to recreate a newsdesk (is that what they’re called? You know, where Connie Chung-types sit to read the news?).

It’s a 10-second shot and definitely not worth our while to find some extravagant set.

But here’s my options as of now:

1) $1200 for half a day at Murray Hill Studios, in…Murray Hill. Not out of this world unreasonable because they have a business to run. Still, $1200 for a nondescript 10 second shot? I suppose Michael Bay has spent millions on a 10 second shot, but I’m not blowing up any news studios, so forget that

2) $300/hour at Manhattan Public Access. Very public, huh? I know, I know, that doesn’t mean it has to be free or if it’s free, it has to be produced for airing. Whatever. Still doesn’t help

3) Use the NYU Journalism Studio, an actual news studio. This is like Hey! I’m an NYU student in the journalism department. No one’s using the space until the fall. Schools foster educational endeavors, and THE EVANGELIST is technically (and the most technically of technically possible) a student film. Surely one hour in the studio shouldn’t be that much of a challenge. Did I mention I’m still looking for a studio?

4) Find a high school with a broadcast studio. My high school had one of those. Too bad it’s in Buffalo Grove, Illinois. Looking kind of grim. Stuyvesant High School in Manhattan doesn’t have one. Brooklyn Tech isn’t answering. Go figure, it’s August.

So now what?

I guess I’ll keep scouring the food blogs I’ve been frequenting during my “I have no idea, this is hard moments.”

Do I smell a career change?

3 Responses to Connie Chung

  1. LYL says:

    Hey,

    You may contact your high school and ask if they can post your profile to Stevenson Alumni page. Here is the link:

    https://blackboard1.district125.k12.il.us/webapps/portal/frameset.jsp?tab=community&url=%2Fbin%2Fcommon%2Fcourse.pl%3Fcourse_id%3D_72_1

  2. Summer says:

    With such a low budget, word of mouth will play a very important role in marketing your movie. Nate Chapman is NYU Alum ’09. You may submit a note from him to NYU Alumni Magazine.

    As a Calmer L. Johnson/John W. Leslie ITW Scholarship receipient since 2006, you may send an email with a note about your movie to ITW Foundation. I’m sure they’d be glad to hear from you and what you’ve been doing with their financial support. If you’re lucky, they may put your profile on their newsletter. You never know, right?

    Here is their email address:

    itwfoundation@itw.com

  3. Daniella says:

    Hey,
    Are you still looking for a new studio? I might be able to help. I was one of the reporters in your film and my mom works for an NBC affiliate. No promises, but I can pursue.

Leave a Reply

